First Presbyterian Church
2020 5th Street
Livermore, California 94550
Upcoming events

About this event

“Reimagined” will be a full length program of piano works which exist in other instrumentations or forms.  In the case of Muzio Clementi’s Sonata quasi Concerto, we have a transcription of the composer’s only surviving Concerto for piano and orchestra published by the composer himself.  Jumping ahead to the 20th Century are two works by contemporary American composers. Kevin Oldham was a Juilliard classmate of Daniel’s, who passed away from AIDS in 1993.  His Piano Concerto was premiered by himself just two months prior to his death. The slow movement has been arranged as a piano solo.  Samuel Barber is represented by the slow movement of his only Piano Concerto, Canzone, and is arranged by Daniel Glover.  This will be the world premiere performance of Mr. Glover’s arrangement in a live concert. Originally for piano and orchestra, the familiar and highly popular Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise Brillante by Chopin rounds out the first half. 

The second half of the program features a work each by Ukrainian born Sergei Bortkiewicz and Russian born Sergei Rachmaninoff.  Both works exist for cello and piano and piano solo.  They are richly sumptuous pieces and the Rachmaninoff has become among the most often performed and beloved cello sonatas. 


Loading... Please stand by.