First Presbyterian Church
230 West Rusk Street
Tyler, Texas 75701
Location map
Upcoming events

About this event

New Texas Sinfonia concludes the season with one of Aaron Copland’s most celebrated works: Appalachian Spring. Originally composed for leading choreographer Martha Graham in 1944, it has been an American classic ever since.

Appalachian Spring follows the lives of a young pioneer couple starting their life together on the spacious frontier. Aaron Copland’s uniquely American sound captures the struggles and joys of their young love, and represents the promise of a new beginning. 

“To be great, art... must belong to the country in which it flourishes, not be a pale copy of some art form perfected by another culture and another people.” ~ Martha Graham 

New Texas Sinfonia
Weston Jennings, conductor

Loading... Please stand by.